Visalia DUI Attorney
Were you arrested for DUI in Visalia?
The city of Visalia is situated in the agricultural San Joaquin Valley of California. Originally settled in 1852, Visalia is the oldest inland European settlement between Los Angeles and Stockton. As a part of Tulare County, Visalia is one of the most productive agricultural areas in the nation. The city is unique in that it is near Yosemite, Sequoia, and Kings Canyon National Parks and the Sierra Nevada mountains, making it a common stop for visitors to any one of these national parks. Whether you're a local resident or a visitor who attended the Wine & Cheese Walk, or the Downtown Expo, or the Ice House Theatre, or one of downtown's local restaurants or bars, you may have easily been arrested for DUI as local law enforcement are enthusiastic about making DUI arrests around town.
A DUI arrest is the gateway into fines, incarceration, driver's license suspension and hefty insurance rate premiums. Since a DUI conviction means a misdemeanor conviction (or felony under certain circumstances), it's absolutely necessary that you do not accept your punishment and instead challenge your criminal charges.
In this country, everyone has a right to a good defense, and everyone has the right to challenge their criminal charges. Remember, you're supposed to be innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt; therefore, you should always seek legal representation when facing criminal allegations of any nature. At the Law Offices of Michael E. Mitchell, A Professional Law Corporation, we focus on DUI defense and we know exactly how and where to look for flaws or errors in a DUI case. The worst possible thing for you to do is nothing, and what you do here and now can impact the entire course of your future.
We are not another apathetic law firm that will gladly take your money and advise you to plead guilty. We pride ourselves on getting our clients' charges reduced if not dropped and your case will be no different. Do you have a job, a family depending on you, or are you in school, or do you have a career on the line? Most people can't afford to go to jail or lose their license, nor can they afford a permanent criminal record. For these reasons, it is our mission to search for and unearth any holes in the case or errors made by law enforcement that may get your charges drastically reduced, if not dropped altogether. You don't want to fork out the maximum amount of money or put in the time for a conviction, and we don't want you to either!
Aggressive Visalia DUI Lawyer by Your Side
In California, you can't legally drink and drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher, nor can you drive under the influence of a controlled substance. The blood alcohol threshold is set at .04% for commercial drivers and at just .01% for drivers under the age of 21. Assuming that you consent to a chemical test in the form of a breath,
urine test, the
penalties are as follows: 1) fines ranging from $390 to $1,000, 2) from 96 hours to 6 months in jail, 3) a 6 month driver's license suspension, and 4) mandatory completion of a 30-hour state-approved drug and alcohol education program.
If you refused to submit to a chemical test or if you are under the age of 21 and your BAC registered at .01% or more, then your license will be suspended for one year. Additionally, if your BAC registered at or above 0.20%, then you will have to participate in a 60-hour state-approved drug and alcohol education program.
Aggravating Factors in a DUI Case
With DUI cases there are what are called aggravating factors, these are surrounding circumstances that make the DUI case more serious. In a DUI case where there are aggravating factors present, the driver is subject to enhanced penalties. Aggravating factors may involve any one or more of the following: having an excessive BAC of .15% or higher, having a child under the age of 14 in the vehicle, causing an accident or property damage, causing bodily injury or death to someone else, driving on a suspended or revoked license, having any prior DUI convictions within the last 10 years, being under the age of 21, excessive speeding or reckless driving, or being on probation for another criminal case. Any one or more of these aggravating factors can cause the prosecutor to seek out additional fines, lengthier jail terms, or community service among other penalties. If you were arrested for DUI and have one or more aggravating factors, then the assistance of a Visalia DUI attorney is essential if you want to reduce the consequences that you're presently up against.
After the date of your DUI arrest, you have just 10 days to request a DMV hearing. This hearing is your opportunity to challenge your driver's license suspension, and it's a wise idea to have a Visalia DUI attorney by your side during this hearing as well as your separate criminal hearing. As a seasoned DUI defense law firm, we are not only well-versed in California's DUI laws, but we have established valuable relationships among local prosecutors, judges, DMV and courtroom personnel, all of which can come in very handy when negotiating on your behalf.
If you or someone you care about is facing DUI charges in Visalia, we urge you to contact our office right away. There are a number of proven and workable defenses to a DUI case, many of which have allowed our clients to keep their license and keep a criminal conviction off their record. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to assist you. Please don't hesitate to get the help you need when you need it, we look forward to guiding you through
the legal process and helping you secure a favorable outcome in your DUI case!
Visalia Resource Links
DUI Information Center
City of Visalia
Visalia Chamber of Commerce